The Department of Polymer Science and Rubber Technology was instituted by the University in 1971 in collaboration with the Rubber Research Institute of India (RRII), Kottayam, recognizing the importance of natural rubber and its significance in the Indian economy.


The B.Tech (Polymer Science and Rubber Technology) was started in 1972 as a two-year post-B. Sc. course. In 1978 it was converted to a three-year B. Tech. course admitting students who have completed B. Sc. degree (10+2+3) in Chemistry or Physics. In 2004 the course was revamped completely to make it a four-year-long B. Tech. for which the admission requirement was Plus-two (10+2). Since then the admission is through an All-India Entrance test conducted by the University. In 2009, the course was redesignated as B. Tech. (Polymer Science and Engineering) by including new engineering papers but without compromising the rubber technology content. The in-take per year is limited to 20 students. This course, supported completely by the Government, is a run with a tuition fee of Rupees eight thousand only per Semester. The students are also eligible for official hostel accommodation. The M.Tech. (Polymer Technology) course was started in 1985 with assistance from UGC and AICTE. The intake is 10 students per year. Selection is based on GATE score.


A very active placement cell is the highlight of the Department. This year already five companies have visited and three more are expected soon for recruiment. .


Research leading to Ph. D. was started in 1980.  Till now 115 students have been awarded Ph.D. and 32 research scholars are on the rolls. Well qualifed members of faculty and state-of-the art facilites are the highlights of the Department. The total number of publications in International Journals from the Department has crossed 800. The Department has been awarded a financial assistance of Rs 125 Lakhs by the UGC under the SAP programme and Rs. 97 Lakh from DST under FIST. The Department has undertaken several research projects sponsored by DST, UGC, AICTE, BARC, NPOL, Vokswagen foundation, Germany etc. The Department has successfully concluded a three-year-long academic collaboration with the Technical University, Eindhoven and Twente University of The Netherlands. Three students have completed Ph.D. under this scheme.


Site Designed and Maintained by Dr. Sunil K.N. Kutty. Template from: Mantis-a templates,